I want Rosemary Clooney’s White Christmas (wardrobe)!

Ever since I was a little girl, I’ve watched White Christmas without fail every Christmas season. Maybe it was especially because I grew up in Florida that a white Christmas sounded so… well, perfect to me.

In all honesty, though, now that I live somewhere where there is always a distinct possibility of a white Christmas, I actually want the 70 degree Christmases of my childhood! Go figure, huh?

But, that’s beside the point.  What I’m here to discuss today is Rosemary Clooney’s wardrobe in the movie.  As Betty, one half of the Haynes Sisters, she has, in my opinion, a very classic wardrobe.  My personal favorite, is the black mermaid gown she wears for Betty’s solo New York appearance.  I’ve thought since I was 15, that if I’m ever so lucky as to wear a couture type gown for oh, let’s say, an appearance at the Oscars or Nobel Prize ceremony, I’d wear a dress like this:

Shapely.  Dramatic. Uber feminine. I mean, talk about an hour-glass figure!

But then there’s the other black number she wears for the minstrel show within a show:

Black and sparkly, it has just a touch of red at the bodice, and a red tulle tail.  Again, it make her look like she’s all woman.  I like to look like all woman, because I am!

And then there’s this:

Just a nice, simple, yet very elegant “everyday” outfit.  Not that my everyday outfits include pencil skirts and 4″ pumps, but then, this was the 1950’s, when almost every woman looked like Betty Crocker.  My grandmother’s pictures prove it.

Not that Vera Ellen – the other female lead in the movie – had a wardrobe to sneeze at.  But shoot!  I’m always so distracted looking at her fabulous dancer legs to pay any real attention to the clothes.  Why don’t my legs like like that?

I can certainly make a wardrobe match Rosemary’s clothes, but I can NEVER make my legs look like Vera’s!

4 thoughts on “I want Rosemary Clooney’s White Christmas (wardrobe)!

  1. I just happened to Google “white Christmas Rosemary Clooney wardrobe” and this blog popped up and I must say I completely agree!! I watch White christmas every year throughout December as well. I grew up watching this movie and love it so much. the music and dancing is great but mostly I would love to wear their wardrobe, costumes and all. I’m attempting to recreate Rosemary Clooneys dress from “Mandy” for Halloween… honeslty I would wear the 50’s fashion everyday!

Do you have some thoughts about this post you'd like to share? Please do - your comments make my day!

