Snow!

Just east of the Cumberland Plateau, we see snow five or six times a year. But, it’s not really SNOW. It’s flurries and flakes, and 30 minutes worth of fun. What snow we normally see only lasts for about as long as it takes to suit up, put on some mittens, and drag the sleds out of the garage. By that time, the snow has already begun to melt, and while my children (even being the teens that they are) and dogs are thrilled to romp about in the white stuff, I just look at it and sigh, because while those thirty minutes are just SO MUCH FUN for them, for me it means that I have thirty minutes until it all gets unloaded in the laundry room. I’ll have 30 minutes until I have 3 or 4 loads of wet and muddy coats, shoes, gloves, socks, hats, etc… So I never really look forward to our kind of snow. Our kind being the 1 1/2 to 2″ worth we usually get….

So it was with quite a bit of skepticism that I watched the weather forecast for last week.

“White Christmas!” announced the weather gurus.

“At least 6 inches!” they said.

“Meh,” is what I thought.

I woke up at 4 a.m. and looked out the window to see…. nada. No white. No snow. No White Christmas. And I went back to sleep.

When the animals downstairs began to stir at 6, I roused myself out of bed again. There was a fire to start (even if there wouldn’t be snow, it’s just not Christmas without a roaring fire…), coffee to make, the rolls to get in the oven, tree lights to turn on. Blah, blah, blah. The Christmas morning routine before the house wakes up…

But as I walked downstairs to let the dogs out and the cat in, I was greeted with…. SNOW!!!

And not just a paltry inch or so. It was honest-to-God S-N-O-W!!! In some two hours, it had snowed just as many inches. And it was still coming down!!!

Woohoo! WHITE CHRISTMAS, BABY!!! Bring on der Bingle for some background music!

Crazy sleeveless girl!

My Snow Angel boy...

I was almost as excited for me as I was for my kids to wake up to see it for themselves. And while they were excited about the excitement of Christmas morning, they were almost just as excited – if not more so! – to get out and really play in it. And so was I.

The dogs are so frisky when it's cold, but they had just as much fun as us!

A snowy homestead

In fact, when my daughter asked me later in the day what my favorite present had been, I answered with complete honesty when I said “the snow.”

All told, according to our local news, we had anywhere between 8″ to 10″ of the white stuff. It was a good 3 days before I had to do the laundry.

Talk about a Christmas present to me.

One thought on “Snow!

Do you have some thoughts about this post you'd like to share? Please do - your comments make my day!

