What to make for Norwegian Guests? Norwegian Pancakes, of Course!

For some reason we know several families of Norwegian descent.  Several year ago, we were visiting one of those families in Seattle and we happened to be there during the birthday of one of their little boys.  For breakfast he requested Norwegian Pancakes.  I’d never heard of them before, but when I tasted that first bite, I was hooked.  I’m more of a waffle person than a pancake person, because my stomach tends to feel like I ate a lead balloon after I’ve eaten American pancakes.  Norwegian pancakes, while filling, are thin and delicate, and not so dense and heavy.  I’ve become a fan of these, and make them a lot when we have company.

Which brings me to today…

Another family of Norwegian heritage has been staying with us to celebrate the New Year, and they brought along a real Norwegian!  She’s an exchange student that’s living with them for this school year.  Being that there is a true Norwegian in the house, I thought it only appropriate to serve these for breakfast.

We wondered whether this recipe is just an Americanized version, so we asked her if this was what she was used to at home.  Her response?

“Yes.  It’s so nice to have a normal pancake for a change.”

So I’m fairly certain this recipe is authentic.  And it’s pretty delicious too!  Enjoy it!

Norwegian Pancakes

3 eggs
1 1/2 C milk
3/4 C flour
1 T sugar
2 T butter, melted
1 t vanilla

*2 T butter, melted to brush over finished pancakes

In a large bowl whisk together eggs, milk, sugar, and 2 T butter. In a separate bowl , mix together flour, salt, and sugar. Slowly pour liquid ingredients into the dry, blending until completely mixed, and there are no lumps.  It helps if one of your bowls has a pour spout, so you can pour the mixture – which will be thin and liquid-y – directly into a hot skillet, but I have this handy-dandy Hershey’s Syrup Chocolate Milk Mixer that I use.  I sent in some box tops once upon a time when my children were little and it was a special treat for them to make their own chocolate milk with the “plunger.”

These are basically crepes (although Norwegian Pancakes sound so much more exotic) so you will need to have some sort of omelet pan to make them in.  You could use a griddle, but because they are so thin, it helps to have that graduated side to slide them off enough to flip.

To begin, heat your omelet pan to medium high heat.  If you don’t have a non-stick pan, spray a little bit of cooking spray to coat the bottom and sides.  Even if you do have a non-stick pan, I spray a bit on regardless so that the pancake will slide a bit easier.

Pour a scant amount of the batter into the pan.

I’m guessing it’s somewhere between 1/4 C to 1/2 C of liquid, but it will depend upon the size of your skillet.  I’m using a 10″ pan.  You just need to lightly coat the bottom with the batter.  The amount you pour in is very similar to making an omelet.

Let the pancake sit a moment or two.  When it begins to bubble, you will want to check around the edges to see if it’s beginning to brown on the bottom.  If it is, wait another few seconds so that the middle will be done enough to slide to one edge.

If it’s not done, because these are so thin and delicate, you’ll likely tear the pancake in the middle like I did here!

If it is brown, and cooked enough in the center, gently slide the pancake to one edge of the pan, and use your spatula to flip it over.  By the way, I LOVE these Matfer spatulas.  They’re safe for non-stick pans and are angled in order to easily get anything flipped or even just get cookies off the cookie sheet.

The 2nd side of the pancake only needs a short time to brown.  At this point, I will lightly brush some of the 2 T of remaining melted butter on top.  After the butter is brushed on, use your spatula and begin rolling the pancake into a tube shape, and slide it directly onto your serving plate.

Now, I will say that you can fill the pancake before it’s rolled (traditionally with Ligonberry jam), but it’s excellent as is, with maybe a hint of powdered sugar or maple syrup.

This recipe makes about 8 or so pancakes; I normally double it for my family of five.  But two was the perfect number for our Norwegian guest…

What a sweet, beautiful Nordic girl!

2 thoughts on “What to make for Norwegian Guests? Norwegian Pancakes, of Course!

Do you have some thoughts about this post you'd like to share? Please do - your comments make my day!

