Awww…. Nuts! (And a little salad too)

I like to eat healthy. But I also like to not eat healthy.

I find that instead of munching away on carrot sticks or Snickers bars and whatnot, nuts help to keep hunger at bay.

Despite their high fat content, they’re packed with protein and fiber, both of which give you that full feeling.  I could probably eat a whole bunch of celery and not feel full.  And if I ate a bag of Doritos, I’d feel nasty, and then want another bag in 20 or so minutes. Thus, I eat almonds, pecans, walnuts, cashews and pistachios.

Sure, nuts have plenty of fat.  But it’s the good kind of fat.

They have Omega-3 acids, vitamin E, and a whole host of other impossibly weird sounding scientific names that basically spell out how healthy they are for you.

They’re known to lower cholesterol and stop development of plaque in your arteries.

But you know what I like about ’em?

They taste good.  They’re crunchy, which tends to fool my brain into thinking I’m eating something like biscotti or Tostitos.  And it works out my jaw muscles, so I get pretty tired of eating them fairly quickly.

But besides eating them plain, I’ll eat them smoked, salted, and even chocolatized.  Yeah, I just made that word up.

Eating the chocolatized ones are sort of like eating a candy bar.  Sort of.  Not really, but… sort of.  The chocolate ones are slightly sweet, so I pretend that instead of eating chocolate almonds, I’m eating a chocolate candy bar with almonds in it.  Weird, I know, but it’s the way I roll…

But I’m also a huge fan of pistachios.  They take time to eat.  And after I’ve shelled a handful, I’m over it.  But by then, my stomach feels full too.  I like how that happens.

I’m a big fan of using them in all sorts of food too.  Even the not-so-healthy kind.  It makes me feel like I’m getting a modicum of healthiness in my not so healthy food.

And just to prove it to you, here’s my recipe for Crunchy Romaine Toss…

Crunchy Romaine Toss
Topping:
1 C pecans, chopped
1 pkg. Ramen noodles, crushed (discard flavoring packet)
1/4 C butter
Melt butter, and add in pecans and noodles; cook until toasted.  Set aside to cool.

Dressing:
1/2 C olive oil
1/4 C sugar
1/3 C red wine vinegar
5 T soy sauce
salt and pepper to taste
Mix together. Set aside, but shake or stir before tossing into salad.

Greens:
1 lg. head romaine lettuce
1 bunch of broccoli, coarsely chopped
4 green onions, sliced

Set aside a few green onions, and a small handful of the pecan mix.  Toss all other ingredients together.  Garnish with the remaining onions and pecan mixture.
Serves 8

See?  Not so very healthy, but oh-so-very good!  You’d be nuts not to try it!

Do you have some thoughts about this post you'd like to share? Please do - your comments make my day!

