Strawberry Salsa

I have a gazillion more strawberry recipes I’ll share with you in the next few days, because my refrigerator and freezer still runneth over from those beautiful red gems.

Today though, I’ll share a mango salsa recipe that I’ve re-jiggered with strawberries.

If I had to choose a final meal, rather than pizza, fried chicken, lasagna, or something “normal,” I’d probably choose grilled tilapia with warm mango salsa from Bonefish Grill.  I love this meal in an abnormal way.  I crave it.  In fact, after my first marathon, my husband took me to Bonefish, and it was all I could do to wait for it to arrive at the table – my appetite was waaaayy off the charts!  It’s full of protein, super tasty, and not a heavy meal at all.  Perfect for having just run 26 miles.  Or, for that matter, perfect for a day sitting around watching Sandra Dee movies too.

I’ve found the recipe for the Bonefish Grill warm mango salsa online, so I merely switched strawberries for the mango.  I imagine it would be delicious on chicken or fish, but this night I used it over a jerk pork tenderloin.  It was pretty wonderful.

The recipe at Bonefish doesn’t use fresh jalapenos, but I like them, so I substituted those for the red chili flakes.  It also provides a little extra color.  This salsa can be served either warm or cold – it was great lightly warmed in the microwave over the pork loin, but it’s fabulous cold over fish tacos!

Strawberry Salsa

2 C diced strawberries, washed and tops cut off
1/2 C diced yellow or orange pepper
1/2 C diced red onion
1 T fresh garlic, chopped
1 small to medium diced jalapeno, depending on your heat likability
1/4 C chopped fresh cilantro
2 T scallions, chopped
3 T olive oil
3 T light corn syrup
1 T lime zest
juice of 1 small lime
salt and pepper to taste*

Chop the first 7 ingredients and mix together.  Mix olive oil, lime zest, and lime juice together; pour over salsa.  Add salt and pepper to taste, and then mix thoroughly.  Let the salsa sit in the refrigerator for at least 2 hours for the flavors to meld.  Serve with chips, on tacos, over fish or poultry.

*I am a big fan of Jane’s Krazy Mixed-Up Salt and use it for most things calling for salt and pepper.  It not only has salt and pepper in it, but herbs and spices too.

For printable version, click on the recipe name

One thought on “Strawberry Salsa

  1. Pingback: Salsa With Jose Cuervo Gold Tequila » The Spice Style

Do you have some thoughts about this post you'd like to share? Please do - your comments make my day!

